18. The Ultimate Productivity Hack is Saying No

18. The Ultimate Productivity Hack is Saying No

I "stole" it from James

Sorry James, I apologize but your title is so good. I just had to "steal" it.

James Clear is, of course, the author of the "Atomic habits" book I am reading.

Whenever I have time I am reading his blog as well. One with the title "The Ultimate Productivity Hack is Saying No" I read a dozen times. You can tell I like it a lot.

First I agreed by acclamation, no thinking. After some time my brain started to process this article and the whole idea. I start analyzing my way of getting the job done.

First, the article's idea is about saying no to a new job just because you don't want to insult your interlocutor, the person you are talking to. It very stimulating idea that states that, in time you take care of your time management in your favour.

It is a brilliant idea but for now, my brain still works to finish a task immediately. Like this, I prevent tasks to build and in the end or after two days I have a mountain of tasks to do.

I just put music on my headphones and work. When an outside task comes I deal with it and move on.

This principle is completely legitimate as James one.

Henry Ford

A few years before I read about Henry Ford, a famous car builder. Among other things you can learn about Henry is the one about his tasks management.

Apparently, he used to assign the most urgent task to his employees with the most tasks on the schedule. Assigning tasks like this Henry was certain that the most urgent task will be done as fast as possible.

He was sure that his employee will do it immediately because he/she don't time to lose.

Of course, I did some simplification of Jameses idea so please, read his article to get the full idea.

Sanchez-Casal Academy

Maybe the answer lies in the fact I learned in Barcelona during my tennis coaching job. At Sanchez-Casal tennis academy, they made half of the tennis courts of clay and the others are hard courts.

Players practice in the morning session for example on clay and in the afternoon on hard courts. For me at first, was shocking. How it is possible? How they adjust so fast. But working like this I learned that like this a brain doesn't notice the difference.

Maybe working Henry's way my brain doesn't notice the difference.

Nothing about Mirko today. I don't know how I missed it.

You know, Mirko is my friend and an IT company owner.